Science Complex: Allen Building, Parker Building and Armes Building

Address:30A Sifton Road
Other Work:1967, addition
Architects:Green Blankstein Russell
Tours:Part of the QR Code Tour

More Information

The complex known as the Science Lecture Block is composed of three buildings: the Armes Building which houses lecture rooms; the Parker Building, which has chemistry laboratories; and the Allen Building which has physics laboratories. This three-block addition to the Fort Garry Campus of the University of Manitoba is sheathed in pre-cast concrete and Tyndall stone, with tinted windows in vertical groupings. The buildings were completed and opened in 1960. In 1967, an additional floor was added to both the Parker and Allen buildings.

The Armes Building was named for Henry P. Armes, former Dean of Arts & Sciences. The Parker Building honours Matthew A. Parker, who was one of the first six science professors to join the University faculty. The Allen Building, which houses the Cyclotron Research Station, is named for the University’s first professor of physics, Dr. Frank Allen.

Other addresses: 144 Dysart Road, 30B Sifton Road

Design Characteristics

  • Three-block addition
  • Sheathed in pre-cast concrete and Tyndall stone
  • Tinted windows in vertical groupings